38,281 views 192 on YTPak
267 3

Published on 30 Mar 2011 | over 7 years ago

Band: Mizraab
Song: Ujalon Main
Language: Urdu
Country of origin: Pakistan

Mizraab (Urdu: مضراب, literal English translation: "a plectrum made by hand from a continuous strand of iron used to strike the strings of the sitar") is a progressive rock band from Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan, formed in 1996. Founded by vocalist, lead guitarist and songwriter, Faraz Anwar, the band's initial line-up was with Faraz Anwar on vocals, Khalid Khan on bass and Akhtar Qayyum on percussions, since then there had been many changes in the line-up the only consistent member being Faraz himself.

The band is well known for being one of the few bands to have brought progressive rock music in Pakistan, thus being one of the few heavy metal music bands to receive significant acknowledgment by the press. The band earned a growing fan base in the underground music community and critical acclaim, with their debut album release Panchi in 1999 described as the first progressive rock album in Pakistan. Faraz Anwar then in 2001 recorded and released An Abstract Point of View through the record label Gnarly Geezer, owned by Allan Holdsworth. The album got rave reviews from musicians all over the world hailing Faraz as a great guitar find from Asia. In 2004, the band, fronted by Faraz, found renewed success and popularity by the release of their second studio album, Maazi, Haal, Mustaqbil, which received too much criticism and critical acclaim. The album sold more than 30,000 copies and is the band's highest selling album. Singles from the album like "Panchi" and "Kitni Sadian" received a lot of airtime on local music channels. The album is also credited to be the first proper urdu metal album released in Pakistan.

After the release of their second stuido album, Mizraab made a comeback into the lime light with the video for "Ujalon Main" in December 2006, which showcased the new band members as well as the change in genre and was well received all over the country. Mizraab's third album was completed in late 2006-2007 but due to the dire state of the music industry in Pakistan, no deal could be reached and the album was shelved.

Band Line-Ups:

Current members:
Faraz Anwar - vocals, lead guitar (1996--present)
James Hobday - bass guitar (2010--present)
Matthew Curr - drums (2010--present)
Yusuke Iwahashi - rhythm guitar (2010--present)

Former members:
Akhtar Qayyum -- percussion (1996--1999)
Khalid Khan -- bass guitar, backing vocals (1996--2003)
Faraz Arshad -- bass guitar (2003--2004)
Jamal Mustafa - rhythm guitar (1999--2004)
Irfan Ahmad - drums (2003--2010)
Shahzad Naseem - rhythm guitar (2004--2009)
Rahail Siddiqui - bass guitar (2004--2009)
Customize Your Hybrid Embed Video Player!

6-digit hexadecimal color code without # symbol.


Report video function is under development.


Loading related videos...