Published on 05 Mar 2015 | about 1 year ago

Ronnie O'Sullivan vs Tom Ford | Last 32 | 2015 Snooker Shoot Out

The Snooker Shoot-Out is a cue sport tournament played under a variation of the standard rules of snooker, which was first held in 1990.[2] The tournament is sponsored by[3] Dominic Dale is the reigning champion.

Contents [hide]
1 History
2 Format
3 Winners
4 Notes
5 References
A similar event known as Shoot-Out was first held in September 1990, when, except the final, all matches were decided over a single frame. The event returned in 2011 with several innovations, and was renamed to Snooker Shoot-Out.[2] It was sponsored by,[4] and has been compared to cricket's Twenty20 matches.[5]

It is a one-frame shoot-out with a random draw, where the winner is given £32,000. The top 64 players in the world rankings contest the tournament, which is shown on Sky. The 2011 event was the first time that Sky has shown a World Snooker event live since 2004.[6][7] Since 2011 the event takes place at the Circus Arena in Blackpool.[8][9][10][11] The event was sponsored by in 2012,[12] by Betfair in 2013,[13] and by in 2014.[3]

Rules by the World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association:[14]

Every frame lasts 10 minutes.
There is a shot clock. For the first 5 minutes of the match, players have 15 seconds per shot, but for the last 5 minutes this is reduced to 10 seconds.[15] Failure to ensure that the cue ball hits the object ball within the time allowed results in a 5 point penalty. Prior to 2013, the shot clock was set at 20 seconds per shot for the first 5 minutes and 15 seconds for the last 5 minutes.[14]
Players must hit a cushion or pot a ball with every shot.[15] Prior to 2013 either the cue ball or the object ball needed to hit a cushion.[14]
All fouls result in ball in hand.
Players ‘lag’ for who breaks off.
In an event of a tie the blue ball shoot-out determines the winner. The blue ball is placed on its spot and the player can place the cue ball anywhere within the D before attempting to pot the blue.

Shoot-Out (4-6 Mar 2015)
Round 2 England Joe Perry 0 - 0 Belgium Luca Brecel Head to head Details Live scores
Round 2 Wales Jamie Jones 42 - 38 England Stuart Bingham Head to head Details
Round 2 England Ronnie O'Sullivan v England Tom Ford Head to head Est. today 7:40pm
Round 2 England Martin Gould v England Rory McLeod Head to head Est. today 8pm
Round 2 England Sam Baird v England Ricky Walden Head to head Est. today 8:15pm
Round 2 England Alfie Burden v Scotland Fraser Patrick Est. today 8:30pm
Round 2 England Barry Hawkins v Scotland Anthony McGill Head to head Est. today 8:45pm
Round 2 Wales Michael White v England Judd Trump Head to head Est. today 9pm
Round 2 England Jimmy White v England Kyren Wilson Head to head Est. today 9:15pm
Round 2 Scotland Graeme Dott v England Rod Lawler Head to head Est. today 9:30pm
Round 2 England Anthony Hamilton v England Shaun Murphy Head to head Est. today 9:45pm
Round 2 China Xiao Guodong v Northern Ireland Mark Allen Est. today 10pm
Round 2 England Chris Wakelin v Ireland David Morris Est. today 10:15pm
Round 2 England Ben Woollaston v India Aditya Mehta Est. today 10:30pm
Round 2 Wales Mark J Williams v England Peter Ebdon Head to head Est. today 10:45pm
Round 2 England Allister Carter v England Michael Holt Head to head Est. today 11pm

Loading related videos...